John F. Gummere Teacher Award

“The John F. Gummere Distinguished Teacher Award is given by the William Penn Charter Alumni Society to that person who, as a member of the faculty of The William Penn Charter School for a period of at least five years, has demonstrated outstanding scholarship, teaching and character; and has been an especially constructive influence upon others in all phases of Penn Charter life.”

1969 Albert Linton
1971 Wilbert Braxton
1972 Samuel Tatnall
1974 Joan Costello
1975 Oliver Nuse
1976 Peter Reinke
1977 Marian Kalenian
1979 Jacob Dresden
1980 Marilyn Geary
1981 Joseph Perrott
1982 John Rogers
1983 Alice Davis
1984 John Schug
1985 Frederick Kempner
1986 Dona Marler
1987 Randy Granger
1988 Paul Butler
1989 Richard Smith
1990 Jeanette Burtnett
1991 Peter Wenigmann
1993 Charles Kaesshaefer OPC’71
1997 Robert Gordon
2000 Cheryl Irving
2003 Eileen A. Shultz
2005 William J. Goulding
2008 Timothy Lynch
2011 Charles Brown
2012 James M. Ballengee Hon. 1689
2017 Joseph Fitzmartin 

Penn Charter

A Friends School for Girls and Boys, Pre-K to 12

3000 West School House Lane Philadelphia, PA 19144 215.844.3460
powered by finalsite