A Friends school, pre-K to 12, on 47 acres in East Falls, Philadelphia


Congratulations, 2017 Prize Recipients!

Congratulations, 2017 Prize Recipients!

Penn Charter recognized Upper School students on May 26 with end-of-year awards honoring their contributions in areas such as leadership, academics, technology and the school’s service learning program. 

Additionally, this year's Commencement speakers were announced: Harold Anderson, Dylan Burnett and Emily Zurcher.

Congratulations to all!

THE ROBERT C. PORTER BOWDOIN PRIZE - To a member of the Sophomore Class who has demonstrated leadership in academics and who has made a significant contribution to school life.
Hadley Ball, Sydney Nixon

CLASS OF 1897 PRIZE - To a member of the Junior Class who has combined high scholarship with character and leadership in school activities.
Catherine McInerney, Jeremy Weiss
WILLIAM C. SHIELDS 3rd MEMORIAL PRIZE - To a student who has completed Ninth Grade with an outstanding record in character, scholarship and sportsmanship.
Noah Evans, Madelynn Solow

HARVARD CLUB AWARD - To that member of the Junior Class who is deemed the most worthy by reason of his/her scholarship, character, school spirit, influence upon his/her fellows, and general ability. 
Brian Isztwan
HENRY A. DRESSER MEMORIAL PRIZE - To an outstanding member of the Tenth Grade.
Duncan Glew, Elizabeth Ross  
RICHARD S. CROSS JEFFERSON SCHOLAR AWARD - To an outstanding Junior Class student in academics and extracurricular activities given by the University of Virginia Club. 
Giovanna DeMarco

WILLIAMS COLLEGE AWARD - To a member of the Junior Class who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and has made a significant contribution to the extracurricular life of the school. 
Evan Wilson

THE COLBY COLLEGE BOOK PRIZE IN HONOR OF ANDREW PEFF OPC ’07 – To a member of the Junior Class who has shown outstanding academic achievement and has made substantial contributions to the school and local community.
Meredith Bernstein

SERVICE LEARNING AWARD - To the student(s) who has most closely fulfilled the ideals of service to the community through active participation in the school’s Service Learning program.
Olivia Brody-Bizar, Charlotte Murray, Christina Vahey

KENNETH A. GERBER AWARD for OUTSTANDING INTELLECTUAL ACHIEVEMENT – To the student who achieves the type of broad-based intellectual accomplishment that characterized Ken Gerber OPC ’85.
Olivia Brody-Bizar

CHERYL IRVING DIVERSITY AWARD - Given to a member of the Senior Class who has made significant contributions to the work of equity and justice and has participated and led in the organization of discussions, workshops and activities to further making Penn Charter an inclusive environment.
Olivia Haynes, Torian Love

D.J. WILLIAMS AWARD - To a student who has made a significant contribution to journalism at Penn Charter in memory of D.J. Williams OPC ’77.
Emma Grugan, Yamit Netter-Sweet

S. WEIR LEWIS, 3rd MEMORIAL PRIZE - To an outstanding member or members of the Junior Class, in English and French, as a tribute to Clifton Lisle and to Oliver P. Hodge who were his teachers in these subjects.
Evan Wilson (English), Lucia Lavelle (French)

Daniela Guillen (12), Marker Angelakis (11), Amelia Dogan (10), Sabrina Shaffer (9)              

CLASS OF 1980 AWARD - To a senior who does the most to promote unity within the class.
Abigail Cohen, Amira Martin
MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE - To a member of the Junior Class who has demonstrated the highest level of motivation, commitment and achievement in science and math classes.
Anna Pogrebivsky
AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY AWARD - For excellence in Chemistry.
Sarah Clarke

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PHYSICS TEACHERS’ AWARD - To the outstanding student in the first-year physics course.
Harrison Drebin
THE ROBERT D. TORREY AWARD - Honors an Upper School student who has shown dedication and achievement during his or her years in the science program.
Madison Morris

MUSIC AWARD - To a member of the Upper School who has made an outstanding contribution to the music program through both talent and leadership.
Tzion Jones (Choral), Jonathan Lewis (Instrumental)

LOUIS SAVINO CHORAL AWARD – To an upper school student who has distinguished him/herself through an extraordinary commitment to Penn Charter’s choral musical program.
Abigail Cohen, Justine Paolini

LOUIS ARMSTRONG JAZZ AWARD - To a student in recognition of outstanding achievement in the field of jazz, as demonstrated through superior musicianship character, and individual creativity.
Joshua Patton

JOHN PHILLIP SOUSA BAND AWARD - To a student in recognition of outstanding achievement and interest in instrumental music, for singular merit in loyalty and cooperation, and for displaying those high qualities of conduct that school instrumental music requires.
Justine Paolini

HISTORY PRIZE - To the Senior who has demonstrated general excellence throughout the U.S. History course during their Junior year.
Olivia Brody-Bizar

J.P. HARLAND PRIZE - To that member of the Junior Class or Senior Class who has been the best student in Latin during his/her years at Penn Charter.
Christian Galo

SPANISH PRIZE - To a student(s) that has clearly demonstrated a true commitment to understanding the culture of Spanish speakers as well as to mastering the Spanish language. 
Yamit Netter-Sweet

CHINESE PRIZE – To the student who has most clearly demonstrated a commitment to mastering the Chinese language, understanding the culture and using what they learn to communicate with others.
Olivia Brody-Bizar

JONATHAN HOLMAN SMULLENS AWARD - Awarded in memory of Jonathan Smullens, Class of ‘79, to a senior who has made particularly significant progress during his/her senior year.
Matthew Gorman, Dominic Toso

DRAMA PRIZE - Awarded to an Upper School student who has made an outstanding contribution to the dramatic arts at Penn Charter.
Tzion Jones

PETER KISHINCHAND MEMORIAL PRIZE - Awarded in memory of Peter Kishinchand OPC ’91, to a student who has made a major contribution to the arts programs at Penn Charter through dedication to the technical aspects of artistic productions.
Al Armstrong

RELIGIOUS STUDIES and PHILOSOPHY DEPARTMENT AWARD - This award is given to a member of the student body who has shown significant scholarly interest and pursuit in the field of religious studies and philosophy in their time at Penn Charter.
Alex Malitas

ASSOCIATION FOR COMPUTING MACHINERY AWARD FOR BEST TECHNOLOGY PROJECT - recognizes the student(s) making the best use of technology to complete a major academic assignment. This award is sponsored by the Dining Philosophers, the University of Pennsylvania's student chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).
Jonathan Lewis 

Other News Stories