Winter Athletes Celebrated

Winter Athletes Celebrated
Two rows of high school athletes totaling over 40 stand holding their awards.

Director of Athletics Michael Brooks welcomed Upper School students, teachers, and winter athletes' families to an afternoon athletics awards ceremony in the Graham Athletics and Wellness Center on March 8. He thanked coaches, the wider athletics team, and gave a special shoutout to John Burkhart OPC '72.

"He has served as the voice of the Quakers once again this year. But, more than that, he continues to preserve the legacy of PC Athletics. Thank you, Burky, for all that you do!"

Brooks also gave special recognition to the exceptional achievements of several athletes:

  • Girls squash players Alex Jaffe and Sam Jaffe, despite playing the highest level of competition in the nation, have won all but one match in regular season play. Sam Jaffe was named the Inter-Ac MVP.
  • Track athlete Alli DeLisi won the Pennsylvania Indoor Track & Field 800 meter Championship, breaking her own school record. The 4x400 relay team of Alli DeLisi, Dani Shipon, Veronica Lentz and Michaela Poland  broke PC's school indoor record.
  • New records were set in the pool including:
    • Eva McIver Jenkins in the 50 free and the 100 free
    • Molly Lo in the 100 back
    • Alex Zoldan in the 500 free
  • Wrestling's successful year included three meet wins and PC's most-ever wrestlers to qualify for nationals. 
  • Mark Butler scored his 1,000th point early in the basketball season, quickly followed by Aleah Snead joining the 1,000 points club. Snead also was named Inter-Ac MVP. 

Photos from the ceremony.  PC Athletics photos by Zamani Feelings.

Receiving Upper School awards recognizing athletic achievement and sportsmanship:

Sport Athlete Award
 Basketball Gracie Shoup  Coach's Award
 Basketball Kelsey Bess  Coach's Award 
 Basketball Aditi Foster  Coach's Award
 Basketball Trey Shinholster  Coach's Award
 Basketball Keith Gee  Coach's Award 
 Basketball Colin Schumm  Coach's Award 
 Indoor Track Alli DeLisi  Coach's Award 
 Indoor Track Veronica Lentz  Coach's Award 
 Indoor Track Dani Shipon  Coach's Award 
 Indoor Track TJ Zwall  Coach's Award
 Indoor Track Britton Armbrister  Coach's Award
 Indoor Track Zahir Kalam Id-Din  Coach's Award
 Squash Lexi Bari  Coach's Award
 Squash  Sydney DelBello  Coach's Award 
 Squash Alex Glomb  Coach's Award
 Squash Ramsay Killinger  Coach's Award
 Squash Grant Roshkoff  Coach's Award
 Squash Jammer La Barge  Coach's Award
 Squash Steven Bernstein  Coach's Award
 Swimming Aisling Brady  
 Swimming Liliana DeMartinis  Coach's Award
 Swimming Abby Steinbrook  Coach's Award
 Swimming Eva McIver-Jenkins  Coach's Award
 Swimming Joe Repetto  Coach's Award
 Swimming Juan Tovar  Coach's Award
 Swimming Alex Zoldan  Coach's Award
 Wrestling George Glomb  Coach's Award
 Wrestling Hugh Maley  Coach's Award
 Wrestling Pat Rullo  Coach's Award


The Inter-Academic League honored the following PC players:

Sport   Athlete  Team
 Basketball Aleah Snead First Team, Inter-Ac MVP
 Basketball Kelsey Bess Inter-Ac Special Recognition
 Basketball Kaylinn Bethea First Team
 Basketball Bella Toomey First Team
 Basketball Ryan Carter Second Team
 Basketball Mark Butler First Team
 Basketball Isaiah Grimes Second Team
 Basketball Kai Shinholster Second Team
 Squash Sam Jaffe First Team, Inter-Ac MVP
 Squash Alex Jaffe First Team
 Squash Ramsay Killinger First Team
 Squash Griffin Yeatman Second Team
 Swimming Eliza Black All-League
 Swimming Eva Coombs All-League
 Swimming Arden Keitel All-League
 Swimming Molly Lo All-League
 Swimming Abby Steinbrook All-League
 Swimming Eva McIver-Jenkins All-League
 Swimming Juan Tovar All-League
 Swimming Alex Zoldan All-League
 Wrestling George Glomb First Team
 Wrestling Hugh Maley Second Team
 Wrestling Greyson Catlow-Sidler Second Team
 Wrestling Jack Bowen Second Team
 Wrestling Pat Rullo Second Team
 Wrestling James Glomb Second Team


Other News Stories