PC SportsZone Athletics Blog Header


Penn Charter recognized three coaches and dozens of student-athletes for notable achievements this year and in their Penn Charter athletic careers.

Spring teams — baseball, crew, lacrosse, softball, tennis and track — were celebrated, along with three-sport athletes, team captains and students who will play their sport in college.

Coaches announced the winners of their Coach's Awards, which honor athletes who have excelled as scorers, defenders, teammates, and for multiple reasons brought distinction to themselves and to their school. The list appears below, along with Inter-Academic League honors. Fall sports and players were celebrated in November, and winter sports in February.

Three PC coaches — Crystal Keelan, Pete Shaifer and Andy Zuccotti — took a special curtain call. (Photo below.) 

"As athletic administrators we are always appreciative of the good work done by all of our coaches, it is particularly rewarding when statewide and national organizations recognize the outstanding work done by our coaches," Ed Foley, associate director of athletics, told the students, parents and coaches who attended the end-of-year banquet.

Crystal Keelan, PC swimming coach and PCAC head coach, has been named head coach of Team USA at the World Junior Championships this summer in Budapest. 

Pete Shaifer guided PC wrestling to its best finish in the last 25 years and was honored by the Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools as its wrestling coach of the year.

Andy Zuccotti coached PC girls cross country to a state title this past fall; along the way they were undefeated in league matches, won the George School and William Tennent Invitationals and had the best season in the history of our girls cross country program. Zuccotti was chosen as the Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools coach of the year. 

Congratulations to all the athletes and coaches who represented Penn Charter in the three seasons of the 2018-2019 academic year!

More photos.

Penn Charter Sports Awards Recipients

Name  Sport Award
Vincent Fattore Baseball Coach's Award
Aaron Maione Baseball Coach's Award
Samuel Siani Baseball Coach's Award
Cole Frieman Crew Coach's Award
Matthew Groshens Crew Coach's Award
Ryan Milkman Crew Coach's Award
Lucy Alter Crew Coach's Award
Aurora Hannikainen Crew Coach's Award
Sydney Nixon Crew Coach's Award
Ava Coyle Lacrosse Coach's Award
Nicholas DiCicco Lacrosse Coach's Award
Emma Maley Lacrosse Coach's Award
Carson Marano Lacrosse Coach's Award
Terence Thompson Lacrosse Coach's Award
Emma Wilson Lacrosse Coach's Award
Anastasia Lewis Softball Coach's Award
Abigail Manion Softball Coach's Award
Abigail Quinn Softball Coach's Award
Liam Birnie Tennis Coach's Award
Tom Bradbeer Tennis Coach's Award
Charlie Jordan - Weinstein Tennis Coach's Award
Akeel Blake Track & Field Coach's Award
Patrick Fehm Track & Field Coach's Award
Alex Turner Track & Field Coach's Award
Mary McDavid Track & Field Coach's Award
Peyton Parker Track & Field Coach's Award
Janae Stewart Track & Field Coach's Award


Inter-Academic League Honors

Name  Sport Team
Vincent Fattore Baseball Second
Aaron Maione Baseball Second
Samuel Siani Baseball First
Kaylee Dyer Lacrosse Second
Vanessa Ewing Lacrosse Second
Hayley Hunt Lacrosse First
Samuel Keyser Lacrosse First
Carson Marano Lacrosse First
Gavin Tygh Lacrosse First
Lucianna Boggi Softball Second
Anastasia Lewis Softball First
Abigail Manion Softball First
Abigail Quinn Softball First
Madelynn Solow Softball First
Liam Birnie Tennis First
Joshua John Tennis First
Akeel Blake* Track & Field  First
Patrick Gabor** Track & Field First
Janae Stewart*** Track & Field First
Isabel Crawford**** Track & Field First
Julia Dolce**** Track & Field First
Danielle Shipon**** Track & Field First
Abigail Zwall**** Track & Field First
* Long Jump & Triple Jump  
**High Jump  
***Long Jump  
****4 x 800  


PC Athletics on Social Media