Students Honored at Prize Assembly

Penn Charter recognized Upper School students on May 25 with end-of-year awards honoring their contributions in areas such as leadership, academics, technology and the school’s service learning program. 

Additionally, this year's Commencement speakers were announced: Ellen O'Malley and Anurithi Senthil.

Congratulations to all!

THE ROBERT C. PORTER BOWDOIN PRIZE - To a member of the Sophomore Class who has demonstrated leadership in academics and who has made a significant contribution to school life.

Anastasia Lewis
Sabrina Shaffer

CLASS OF 1897 PRIZE - To a member of the Junior Class who has combined high scholarship with character and leadership in school activities.

David Garnick
Annika Murray

WILLIAM C. SHIELDS, 3rd MEMORIAL PRIZE - To a student who has completed Ninth Grade with an outstanding record in character, scholarship and sportsmanship.

Zora Johnson
Liam La Barge

HARVARD CLUB AWARD - To that member of the Junior Class who is deemed the most worthy by reason of his/her scholarship, character, school spirit, influence upon his/her fellows, and general ability. 

Sarah Clarke

HENRY A. DRESSER MEMORIAL PRIZE - To an outstanding member of the Tenth Grade.

Riley McDade

RICHARD S. CROSS JEFFERSON SCHOLAR AWARD - To an outstanding Junior Class student in academics and extracurricular activities given by the University of Virginia Club.

Hadley Ball

WILLIAMS COLLEGE AWARD - To a member of the Junior Class who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and has made a significant contribution to the extracurricular life of the school.

Emily "Page" Proctor

THE COLBY COLLEGE BOOK PRIZE IN HONOR OF ANDREW PEFF OPC ’07 – To a member of the Junior Class who has shown outstanding academic achievement and has made substantial contributions to the school and local community.

Hayley Joyce

SERVICE LEARNING AWARD - To the student(s) who has most closely fulfilled the ideals of service to the community through active participation in the school’s Service Learning program.

Charlotte Murray
Maria Perry
Noah Schwartz

SERVICE AWARD - To any member of the student body who has given continuous service to Penn Charter over a period of years.

Al Armstrong

CHERYL IRVING DIVERSITY AWARD - Given to a member of the Senior Class who has made significant contributions to the work of equity and justice and has participated and led in the organization of discussions, workshops and activities to further making Penn Charter an inclusive environment.

Priya Ahmad

D.J. WILLIAMS AWARD - To a student who has made a significant contribution to journalism at Penn Charter in memory of D.J. Williams, OPC’77.

Noah Schwartz
Anna Pogrebivsky

S. WEIR LEWIS, 3rd MEMORIAL PRIZE - To an outstanding member or members of the Junior Class, in English and French, as a tribute to Clifton Lisle and to Oliver P. Hodge who were his teachers in these subjects.

Emily "Page" Proctor (English)
Leila Sor (French)


Ninth: Daniel Will and Daniel Bach
Tenth: Sarah Greenberg and Aaron Reisman
Eleventh: Mia Monheit
Twelfth: Jeremy Weiss

CLASS OF 1980 AWARD - To a senior who does the most to promote unity within the class.

Tzion Jones
Ava Nicolucci

MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE - To a member of the Junior Class who has demonstrated the highest level of motivation, commitment and achievement in science and math classes.

Amelia Dogan

AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY AWARD - For excellence in Chemistry.

Leah Sax

THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PHYSICS TEACHERS’ AWARD - To the outstanding student in the first year physics course.

Ryan Mosenkis

THE ROBERT D. TORREY AWARD - Honors an Upper School student who has shown dedication and achievement during his or her years in the science program.

Lucia Lavelle

THE ROBERT F. CHAPMAN OPC ’36 FUND FOR SUSTAINABILITY AND ENVIRONMENTAL STEWARDSHIP PRIZE – To a member of the Junior class whose talents in the sciences and passion for nature recall Robert F. Chapman’s lifelong application of scientific understanding to environmental issues.

Hadley Ball

MUSIC AWARD - To a member of the Upper School who has made an outstanding contribution to the music program through both talent and leadership.

Ian Harbison (Instrumental)
Adam Weil (Choral)

LOUIS SAVINO CHORAL AWARD – given to an upper school student who has distinguished him/herself through an extraordinary commitment to Penn Charter’s choral musical program.

Brian Isztwan
Kate Bender

LOUIS ARMSTRONG JAZZ AWARD - given to a student in recognition of outstanding achievement in the field of jazz, as demonstrated through superior musicianship character, and individual creativity.

Blaise Ciarrocchi
Lily Weil

JOHN PHILLIP SOUSA BAND AWARD - given to a student in recognition of outstanding achievement and interest in instrumental music, for singular merit in loyalty and cooperation, and for displaying those high qualities of conduct that school instrumental music requires.

Elizabeth Drebin
Jeremy Weiss

HISTORY PRIZE - To the Senior who has demonstrated general excellence throughout the U.S. History course during their Junior year.

Tzion Jones

J.P. HARLAND PRIZE - To that member of the Junior Class or Senior Class who has been the best student in Latin during his/her years at Penn Charter.

Niamh Stull

SPANISH PRIZE - To a student(s) that has clearly demonstrated a true commitment to understanding the culture of Spanish speakers as well as to mastering the Spanish language.

Blaise Ciarrocchi

CHINESE PRIZE – To the student who has most clearly demonstrated a commitment to mastering the Chinese language, understanding the culture and using what they learn to communicate with others.

Evan Wilson

LAWRENCE W. KUNKLE AWARD – To a senior who best exemplifies the qualities of creative ability, diligence and service that Lawrence Kunkle exhibited as a teacher at Penn Charter.

Stella Singer

JONATHAN HOLMAN SMULLENS AWARD - Awarded in memory of Jonathan Smullens, Class of ‘79, to a senior who has made particularly significant progress during his/her senior year.

John Washington

DRAMA PRIZE - Awarded to an Upper School student who has made an outstanding contribution to the dramatic arts at Penn Charter.

Caroline Chovanes

PETER KISHINCHAND MEMORIAL PRIZE - Awarded in memory of Peter Kishinchand OPC’91, to a student who has made a major contribution to the arts programs at Penn Charter through dedication to the technical aspects of artistic productions.

Soren Heinz

RELIGIOUS STUDIES and PHILOSOPHY DEPARTMENT AWARD - This award is given to a member of the student body who has shown significant scholarly interest and pursuit in the field of religious studies and philosophy in their time at Penn Charter.

Priya Ahmad
John "Mitch" Sibson

ASSOCIATION FOR COMPUTING MACHINERY AWARD FOR BEST TECHNOLOGY PROJECT - recognizes the student(s) making the best use of technology to complete a major academic assignment. This award is sponsored by the Dining Philosophers, the University of Pennsylvania's student chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Caroline Chovanes