Eighth Grade Moving-Up Ceremony

Thursday, June 6, was a significant day as the eighth grade class concluded their Middle School journey.

The Graham Athletics & Wellness Center was filled with family, friends, faculty, staff and fellow Middle School students to celebrate the 87 eighth graders who will be moving on to Upper School this fall. Eighth graders Piper Stewart and Anderson Krause welcomed their classmates and introduced Head of School Karen Warren Coleman, who addressed the audience and shared reflections on the past school year. Julisa Allison and Nyah Gollapudi remarked on their eighth grade experiences and initiated a call to gathering as the ceremony held a short Meeting for Worship.

The program featured speeches from three students: Leela Vedanthan; sixth grade; Sam Nemeth, seventh grade; and Sam Da Veiga, eighth grade. The Seventh and Eighth Grade Choir, accompanied and directed by choral director Tony Yoo, performed Green Day's "Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)." The band, directed by Bradford Schoener, performed Journey's "Any Way You Want It." Special awards and presentations for the graduates followed.

Director of Middle School Wilson Felter led the Moving-Up ceremony and Director of Upper School Kim Berndt welcomed the eighth graders to Upper School.

Award Winners

Hal Commons Memorial Award
Presented by Wilson Felter, this award is given to a Middle School student who best exemplifies the qualities of caring, sharing and responsibility.

  • Makena Myers & Piper Stewart

Richard Mott Jones Memorial Award
Presented by Jim Pilkington, interim assistant director of Middle School, this award is given to an outstanding member of the eighth grade class who excels in academics, athletics, the fine and performing arts, and contributes positively to the social environment in our Middle School.

  • Ezra Amankulor

Antonios S. Thomas Memorial Award
Presented by Karen Coleman, this award is given to a Middle School student who best embodies the spirit, energy and enthusiasm of Middle School and has earned the respect of students and teachers alike. The recipient's presence in Middle School has made our community better.

  • Peyton Abbott

Congratulations to the Class of 2028!

View Photos

Purchase Formal Photos